Friday, December 23, 2016

Parimala Ranganatha Perumal Temple, Thiruindaloor – The Temple

Parimala Ranganatha Perumal Temple, Thiruindaloor – The Temple
The central shrine is of the presiding deity Parimala Ranganathar made of 12 ft. (3.7 m) green stone and is seen in a reclining posture facing east. The consort of Parimala Ranganathar is Parimala Ranganayaki, who is also called Chandrasaapa Vimochanavalli and Pudareekavalli. The sanctum also houses the images of river gods Cauvery and Ganga and that of Santhana Gopala Krishnan. Worship to Santhana Gopalan in this temple will bless the couple to beget children. The Hindu god of creation, Brahma is sculpted on the wall.

The temple has shrines of Santhana Gopalan, Yoga Narasimhar, Räma, Anjaneya, Surya and Chandra. This temple has three prakarams (precincts) that houses all the shrines and has a five-tier, east-facing Rajagopuram. The Dwajasthampa Mandapam and Garuda Mandapam have sculpted pillars, with the latter having images of ten avatars of Vishnu. The Moolavar Parimala Ranganathar, an imposing 12 feet long sculpture of green stone, is in a reclining posture (veerasayana) facing east with four hands (Chatur Bhuja).

Utsavar is known as Maruviniya Mainthan (also called Sugantha Vana Nathan). The Vimana above the sanctum sanctorum is of Veda Chakra design. Chandra-Moon worships the face of the Lord; Sun the feet and Lord Brahmma the naval. Mother Cauvery worships Perumal on his head side while Mother Ganga His feet. Yama and Ambarishan also worship the Lord at his feet. Mother Cauvery has greater importance in this place than Mother Ganga.

Parimala Ranganatha Perumal temple is built in a Dravidian style and is said to be contributed by Cholas, Vijayanagar Empire and Madurai Nayakkars. However, the temple is now maintained by Religious and Charitable Institutions Endowment Board of Government of Tamilnadu.

·        Parimala Ranganathar is in Sleeping Posture in east facing.
·        Maruviniya Mainthan (also called Sugantha Vana Nathan)
·        Parimala Ranganayaki- Sugantha Naayaki (Separate Sannidhi)
·        Indu (Chandra) Pushkarini
·        Vedachakra Vimanam

No comments: