Friday, December 23, 2016

Needur Somanathaswami Temple – The Temple

Needur Somanathaswami Temple – The Temple
The presiding deity is Somanathaswami. The consort is Veyurutholi Ammai. The temple has shrines to Sivaloganathar, Kailasanathar, Ganesha, Ananda Thandavamurthy, Murugan and the Seven Virgins. This east facing temple has 2 prakarams. The main entrance to the temple is from the east. The shrine for the female deity is located on the outer prakaram and faces south. The sanctum sanctorum of the main male deity Arutsomanathar is located in the inner prakaram.

The shrines for Lord Muruga, Sivaloganathar, Kailasanathar, Kasi Viswanathar, Munaiyadu nayanar and Mahalakshmi are also located in the inner prakaram. The shrines for Dakshinamurthy, Brahma, Annamalayar, Sandikeswarar and Durgai are also located on the four corners of the sanctum. Planet Saturn is opposite Ambica shrine facing east. The devotee can have the darshan of Mother and Saturn simultaneously for removal of the adverse aspect of the planet.  

There is no Navagraha-9 planets- shrine in the temple. Mother Badrakali in a separate shrine had worshipped Lord in the temple. As a rule in Hindu customs, people worship Vinayaka before commencing any work.  They then have to follow the advice of elders. Vinayaka in the temple is considered elder, experienced and adviser. The three aspects are praised as Chintamani Vinayaka, Selva Maha Vinayaka and Sivananda Vinayaka. Any one starting a business prays to Vinayaka in this temple for profitable results.

Inscriptions of first Kulothunga Cholan, 2nd Rajaraja Cholan and 3rd Rajaraja Cholan can be seen in this temple. Lord Nataraja is in Sudhai form. Siddhi Vinayaka graces the devotees from his shrine.  The vimana in the sanctum sanctorum is of Irudala design. There is an imposing shrine to Bhadrakali – Aalaalasundari and Surya here. On Sundays special worship is being conducted to Sun God in his shrine.

Rishabaroodar is located in front of entrance gopuram. In Koshtam Narthana Ganapathy, Dhakshinamoorthy, Lingothbhavar, Bramha and Durgai are located. Sthala Vriksham is Magizha Maram (Bakula) and Theertham of this Temple are Senkazhuneerodai, Bathrakali Theertham, Parudhikundam, Varuna Theertham, and Surya Theertham.

No comments: