Sunday, December 4, 2016

Loganatha Perumal Temple, Thirukannangudi – Religious Significance

Loganatha Perumal Temple, Thirukannangudi – Religious Significance
The temple is revered in Nalayira Divya Prabandham, the 7th – 9th century Vaishnava canon, by Tirumazhisai Alwar in one hymn. The temple is classified as a Divyadesam, one of the 108 Vishnu temples that are mentioned in the book. This temple is one of the Panchakanna (Krishnaranya) Kshetrams. Kannan refers to Krishna, the avatar of Vishnu, while Pancha means five and Kshetrams refers to holy places.
Four of the five temples are situated in Chola Nadu, in modern times, in the region surrounding Kumbakonam and Nagapattinam and one of them in Nadu Naadu. There are five similar temples located in North India, called Pancha-dvarakas. Krishna is not the presiding deity in any of the temples. The processional deity, Krishna, led to the derivation of the names of these places.
The Panchakannan Kshetrams are:
·        Loganatha Perumal Temple at Thirukannangudi
·        Gajendra Varadha Temple at Kabisthalam
·        Neelamegha Perumal Temple at Thirukannapuram
·        Bhaktavatsala Perumal Temple at Thirukannamangai
·        Ulagalantha Perumal Temple at Thirukkovilur

No comments: