Friday, October 20, 2017

Thuyartheertha Nathar Temple, Omampuliyur, Cuddalore

Thuyartheertha Nathar Temple, Omampuliyur, Cuddalore
Thuyartheertha Nathar Temple is a Hindu Temple dedicated to Lord Shiva located at Omampuliyur in Cuddalore District of Tamilnadu. The historical name of the place is Umapuliyur / Omapuliyur / Pranava Puram. Presiding Deity is called as Thuyartheertha Nathar / Pranava Vyagrapureeswarar / Pranava Pureeswarar. Mother is called as Pushpa Lalithambigai / Poonkodinayaki. Sthala Vriksham is Ilandai and Theertham associated with this Temple are Gowri Theertham and Kollidam River. The Dakshinamurthy shrine is of significance here.

This shrine is also one of the five Puliyurs associated with Sage Vyagrapada. It is one of the shrines of the 275 Paadal Petra Sthalams - Shiva Sthalams glorified in the early medieval Thevaram poems by Tamil Saivite Nayanmars Tirugnanasambandar and Thirunavukkarasar. This is the 85th Devaram Paadal Petra Shiva Sthalam and 31st Sthalam on the north side of River Cauvery in Chozha Nadu. This Temple is part of the Nadu Naatu Devara Sthalam. 

The village Omampuliyur, is a picturesque beautiful village with its rice fields on either side of the road leading to Anakarai from Kattu Mannar Koil. The temple is run by a trust and the Gurukkal also are on hereditary basis. This temple is of special importance to those born under Revathi Star and whose Rashi is Dhanur.

For brief details, please refer below link;
The Temple
For brief details, please refer below link;
Temple Opening Time
The temple is open from 6.00 a.m. to 12.00 a.m. and from 4.00 p.m. to 8.00 p.m.
Four worship services are offered each day, and Thai Poosam, Maasi Magam, Navaratri and Shivaratri are the annual festivals celebrated here. Jupiter transition day is celebrated annually in the temple.
Religious Practices
A unique practice followed in the procedure of Abhishekam draws one's attention. Generally, in all Siva temples, the Abhishekam, archana etc. are performed to the presiding deities, viz., Siva and Parvathi — followed by the prakara deities which may include Natarajar, Dakshinamurthy, Subramaniar, Durga and Navagraha. But in this temple after performing the Abhishekam, archana, etc., to Lord Pranava Vyagrapureeswarar, the scene shifts to the shrine of Lord Dakshinamurthy (in the Mahamandapam) and then only to Goddess Pushpa Lalithambigai. Here Lord Dakshinamurthy takes precedence as guru. 
Literary Mention
For brief details, please refer below link;
Parents expecting their children to achieve academic excellence, come with them to the temple, perform abishek and archanas to Lord Dakshinamurthy. On Thursdays and on Jupiter transition day, devotees perform special pujas to Lord Dakshinamurthy.
Thuyartheertha Nathar Temple,
Omampuliyur Post, Ayankudi S.O.
Kattumannarkudi Taluk,
Cuddalore District – 608306
Phone: +91 4144 264 845
For brief details, please refer below link;