Friday, October 13, 2017

Thiruvarur – General Information

Thiruvarur – General Information
Thiruvarur District is one of the 32 districts in the Tamil Nadu state of India. The district occupies an area of 2161 km². It lies between Nagapattinam district on the east and Thanjavur District on the west, and is bounded by the Palk Strait on the south. The district headquarters is at Thiruvarur town. Thiruvarur also spelt as Tiruvarur is a town & municipality in Tiruvarur district in the Indian state of Tamilnadu. It is the administrative headquarters of Tiruvarur district and Tiruvarur Taluk. The town was one of the five traditional capitals of the Chola empire, with one of the emperors of the dynasty, Kulothunga Chola I, having it as his capital.

The town is believed to be of significant antiquity and has been ruled, at different times, by the Medieval CholasLater Cholas, Later Pandyas, Vijaya Nagara EmpireMarathas and the British. The town is known for the Thyagaraja temple, and the annual chariot festival held in the month of April. The temple chariot of the Thyagaraja temple, weighing 300 tonnes (660,000 lb.) and measuring 90 feet (27 m) tall is the largest temple chariot in Tamilnadu. Thiruvarur is the birthplace of ThyagarajaMuthuswami Dikshitar and Shyama Sastri, popularly known as the Trinity of Carnatic music of the 18th century CE.

Thiruvarur was a part of Thanjavur district till 1991 and Nagapattinam district until 1997; it became the headquarters of Tiruvarur district when it was carved out of Nagapattinam district in 1997. The Odampokki river passes through the centre of the town. Thiruvarur covers an area of 10.47 km2 (4.04 sq. mi). It is administered by a first grade municipality. The town is a part of the Cauvery delta region and agriculture is the major occupation. Roadways are the major means of transportation with a total of 94.06 km (58.45 mi) of district roads including three national highways passing through the town.

For brief details, please refer below link;
Thiruvarur district receives an annual rainfall of 1,260 millimetres (50 in). The district experiences tropical climate during summer; from March to May. The proximity to sea results in high humidity throughout the year and peaks 70% from August to May. The district has a plain terrain of alluvial soil consisting of sand, silt and clay. Paddy is the major crop while the others being black gramgreen gramground nut and gingelly.

Thiruvarur district is made up of seven taluks:
·        Kudavasal
·        Mannargudi
·        Nannilam
·        Needamangalam
·        Thiruthuraipoondi
·        Thiruvarur
·        Valangaiman
Thiruvarur lies in the Kaveri River basin and the main occupation of the inhabitants of the town and surrounding regions is agriculture. More than 70% of the workforce is involved in agriculture; 14% being cultivators and rest are agricultural labourers. Paddy is cultivated in three seasons namely Kuruvai (June–August), Samba (August–January) & Thaladi (January - March). There are no industrial estates in the town and the district – as of 2012, a government proposal is formulated to develop one at Vaippur village. Modern agricultural tools like hullers have replaced labourers and reduce the profit margin of small traders and labourers. There are no co-operative societies who acquire the farm products and the District Purchasing Centre, operated by the government of Tamil Nadu is the major procurer.
Being an agricultural town, the predominant industries are agriculture based like modern rice milling, palm oil refinery, poultry, livestock and coir based. Tamil Nadu Civil Supplies Corporation operating a modern rice mill and South India Edible Oil involved in refining oil are the large-scale industries in the town. There are small service enterprises involved in automobile servicing, hotels, hospitals, boat repairing and nylon fishnet repairing. There is a weekly market at Thanjai Salai and a daily market maintained by the municipality, where vegetables and fish are sold.
Nationalized banks such as State Bank of IndiaIndian BankCentral Bank of IndiaPunjab National BankIndian Overseas Bank and private banks like ICICI BankCity Union Bank have their branches in Thiruvarur. Kumbakonam Co-operative Bank, Tiruvarur Co-operative Bank and Primary Agriculture Bank are the cooperative banks that have their branches in the town. All these banks have their Automated teller machines located in various parts of the town.
Places of Interest
For brief details, please refer below link;
Hotels List
For brief details, please refer below link;
For brief details, please refer below link;