Saturday, January 28, 2017

Swetharanyeswarar Temple, Thiruvenkadu – Religious Significance

Swetharanyeswarar Temple, Thiruvenkadu – Religious Significance
This Shiva temple is one of the 6 most sacred places on the banks of river Manikarnigai and Cauvery which is considered as equivalent to the temple at Varanasi. The six sacred Lord Shiva temples are:
·        Thiruvenkadu Swetharanyeswarar Temple
·        Thiruvaiyaru Aiyarappar temple
·        Tiruchaaikkadu (Chaayaavanam) Chaayaavaneswarar Temple
·        Mayiladuthurai Mayuranathaswami Temple
·        Tiruvidaimarudur Mahalingeswarar Temple
·        Tiruvanchiam Vanchi Nadha Swamy Temple
Thiruvenkadu Swetharanyeswarar Temple is one of the Navagraha temples, which is dedicated to the planet Mercury (Budha). Navagraha temples are the nine temples dedicated to Navagrahas (nine planets or nine celestial bodies). The Navagrahas are believed to be the transmitters of Universal, quintessential energy or power. The Navagrahas are closely associated with the fixed stars in the Zodiac. Each Navagraha temples are located at different places in and around Kumbakonam sector.
The Navagraha temples are considered to be the best destination to get rid of from the influence of planets. And most of these Navagraha temples are dedicated to Lord Shiva and Lord Shiva is worshipped as the main deity. The only Navagraha temple dedicated to Grahas (celestial bodies) is Suryanaar temple.
The Navagraha Temples are:
·        Suryanaar Temple – Surya (Sun)
·        Agneeswarar Temple – Shukra (Venus)
·        Kailasanathar Temple – Chandra (Moon)
·        Vaitheeswaran Temple – Mangala (Mars)
·        Tirunageswaram Nageswarar Temple – Rahu
·        Thirunallaru Dharbaranyeswarar Temple – Sani (Saturn)
·        Keezhperumpallam Naganathaswamy Temple – Kethu
·        Abathsahayeswarar Temple – Guru (Jupiter)
·        Thiruvenkadu Swetharanyeswarar Temple – Budha (Mercury)

No comments: