Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Azhagiya Singa Perumal Temple (Tiruvelukkai), Kanchipuram – The Temple

Azhagiya Singa Perumal Temple (Tiruvelukkai), Kanchipuram – The Temple
The presiding deity is Narasimhar (also called Mukunda Nayaka) is depicted in a seated posture, in Yoga position facing East. The temple is located close to the Tiruththanka temple in Vishnu Kanchipuram. The temple has three shrines, one each for the presiding deity Azhagiasingar, one for his consort Amruthavalli and other for Garuda.

This temple has a three tiered Rajagopuram and a single prakaram. There are also shrines to Aandaal and the Alwars. The Vimana above the sanctum sanctorum of Lord Narasimha is called Kanaka Vimanam.  

Sage Brugu had worshipped Perumal in this temple.  Sri Sudarsana Chakarathzhwar the deity of Lord Vishnu’s discus graces from a shrine in the outer corridor-prakara.  

Sri Garuda Bhagwan in the Narasimha shrine appears with his head slightly on a side as if unable to bear the fury of the Lord.  This is a strange and different style of Garuda in this temple. Sri Azhagiya Singar Perumal Temple is built in a Dravidian style of architecture and the walls are surrounded with granite. 

The Pushkarani (temple tank) of Sri Azhagiya Singar Perumal Temple is called as Kanaga Saras and Hema Saras Pushkarani.

Moolavar and Thaayar:
The Moolavar of this sthalam is Sri Azhagiya Singar. He is also named as Narasimhar and Mukuntha Naayagan. Moolavar is in Yoga Position facing East direction. 
·        Prathyaksham for Brighu Munivar
·        Thaayar: Velukkai Valli (Amirtha Valli). 
·        Perumal
·        Thaayar
·        Garudan
·        Chakarathzhwar
·        Aandal
·        Azhwars
·        Pey Alwar - 3 Paasurams
·        Thiru Mangai Alwar - 1 Paasuram
·        Total - 4 Paasurams
·        Kanaga Saras
·        Hema Saras
·        Kanaka Vimanam