Friday, August 5, 2016

Ramanathaswamy Temple, Rameswaram – Five Shiva Shrines in Third Corridor

Ramanathaswamy Temple, Rameswaram – Five Shiva Shrines in Third Corridor
There are five Shiva Shrines located in the Third Corridor. The list of the Shiva shrines in the third corridor are listed below;
·        Naleswarar Sannathi
·        Neeleswarar Sannathi
·        Kavayeswarar Sannathi
·        Bapa paksheshwarar Sannathi
·        Punya thaaneswarar Sannathi
These Sannathis were constructed by Paranthaka chola and Raja Raja chola during the period of 10th and 11th centuries. These temples are situated in the west side of the third corridor (Moondraam Prakaram).

No comments: