Sunday, July 3, 2016

Srinivasa Perumal Temple (Mayakoothar Perumal Temple), Tirukulandhai, Thoothukudi – The Temple

Srinivasa Perumal Temple (Mayakoothar Perumal Temple), Tirukulandhai, Thoothukudi – The Temple
This is the 6th temple in the Nava Thirupathi temples and comes under Pandiya Naatu divyadesams of Sri Vaishnavas. The presiding deity is Srinivasa perumal or Soranadha perumal in standing posture, Utsavar is known as Mayakoothan and Thaayars are known as Alamelu Mangai and Kulanthaivalli. The upper two hands of the Lord have Prayoga chakra and Shanku while the other two are in the posture of Varadha Hastam and Kadi Hastham. The temple represents the Shani sthalam among the Nava graha Kshetrams. A unique feature of the temple is the presence of Garuda along with the Utsavar inside the Sannadhi.

The place known as ‘Tirukulandhai’ is more identified as Perungulam. The residents of this village recognize their dwelling as ‘Perungulam Perumal koil’ and thus associate it with the temple. Though a small village now, inscriptional evidences show that it must have been a big city, once upon a time. The temple too remains impressive, without much damage.

Srinivasan, the Prime Deity, stands majestically facing east under the Ananda Nilayam Vimaanam.  His Spouses have their place near him and do not have separate shrines.  The Utsavar or procession deity is called ‘Mayakoothan’ or Soranathan in Sanskrit.  The interesting feature is that Garuda, who is usually installed opposite to the Moolavar, dwells as Utsavar in the sanctum sanctorum itself.

The icon of the Prime Deity, enfolded on both sides by his Spouses, displays Kamalavalli or Kulanthaivalli blissfully seated in his chest.  Nammalvar has consecrated this Divya Desam in Tiruvaymoli, 8.2.4. The temple has an image of Lord Vishnu facing east direction. Kulam refers to tank in Tamil language. The name of the village is derived from the same. The temple has two prakarams (closed precincts of a temple).

Since Garuda was instrumental in bringing the Lord to this place, he was accorded a special status at this temple and is seen as an Utsavar. 

Moolavar and Thaayar:
The Moolavar of this temple is Sri Srinivasa Perumal. Moolavar is in Nindra Thirukkolam facing east direction. Lord gave prathyaksham for Kamalavathi.
Thaayar: The Thaayars of this temple are Alamelumangai Thaayar and Kulandhai Valli.
·        The Utsavar of this temple is Sri Mayakoothan.
·        Nammalvar – 1 Pasuram
·        Srinivasa Perumal
·        Alwar Acharyas
·        Manavalamamunigal
·        Thiruvenkatamudayam Sannadhi outside the temple
·        Perungkulam.
·        Anandha Nilaya Vimaanam.

No comments: